KS: NW Kan. hospitals awarded for Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome training

Hays Post News –

TOPEKA – The Kansas Department of Health and Environment announced that the Vermont Oxford Network has awarded the state of Kansas the “State of Excellence in Education and Training for Infants and Families Affected by Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome” designation.

Kansas is the second state to receive this designation.

The award is received as a partnership between KDHE and the Kansas Perinatal Quality Collaborative (KPQC) and supported by VON, with the goal to standardize care for infants and families affected by neonatal abstinence syndrome (NAS). The award recognizes that at least 85 percent of multidisciplinary care teams participating in the “Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome Collaborative: Improving Care to Improve Outcomes” completed universal training for care of NAS.

NAS is a drug withdrawal syndrome experienced by infants exposed to opioids while in utero. Infants born with NAS are more likely to have respiratory complications, feeding difficulty, low birthweights, and extended hospital stays.

KDHE and KPQC partnered with VON to provide 33 birth centers universal training designed to standardize care policies.

The collaborative approach to universal training included rapid-cycle distribution of current evidence-based practices to the entire interdisciplinary workforce engaged in caring for substance-exposed infants and families. This approach has been proven to reduce length of hospital stay and length of pharmacologic treatment while increasing family satisfaction.

The 31 birth centers to be recognized as Vermont Oxford Network Centers of Excellence include:

AdventHealth Ottawa, Ottawa

AdventHealth Shawnee Mission, Merriam

Allen County Regional Hospital, Iola

Ascension Via Christi-Manhattan, Manhattan

Ascension Via Christi-St. Joseph, Wichita

Citizens Medical Center, Colby

Community Healthcare System, Onaga

Community Memorial Healthcare, Marysville

Geary Community Hospital, Junction City

Hays Medical Center, Hays

Hiawatha Community Hospital, Hiawatha

Hutchison Regional Medical Center, Hutchinson

Kansas Midwives Alliance

Kearny County Hospital, Lakin

Labette Health, Parsons

Lawrence Memorial Hospital, Lawrence

Memorial Health System-Abilene, Abilene

Menorah Medical Center, Overland Park

Nemaha Valley Community Hospital, Seneca

Neosho Memorial Regional Medical Center, Chanute

Newman Regional Health, Emporia

Olathe Medical Center, Olathe

Overland Park Regional Medical Center, Overland Park

Rooks County Health Center, Plainville

Salina Regional Health Center, Salina

Southwest Medical Center, Liberal

Stormont Vail Health, Topeka

University of Kansas Health System, Kansas City

University of Kansas Health System-St. Francis, Topeka

Wesley Medical Center, Wichita

Western Plains Medical Center, Dodge City

Link to Article


Copyright © 2021 - NADDI. All Rights Reserved.

Disclaimer / Privacy Policy / Copyright Policy

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?